New Jersey Sawed-Off Shotgun Possession Lawyers

Weapons Charges Defense Attorneys in Monmouth County, New Jersey

NJ Sawed-off Shotgun Possession Lawyer In New Jersey, sawed-off shotguns fall within the class of Prohibited Weapons and Devices, leaving those found in possession of these weapons vulnerable to criminal weapons charges. Sawed-off shotguns can be created manually be civilians who simply modify standard shotguns to create more concealable weapons. New Jersey outlaws these weapons because they are more easily concealable and thus, conducive to criminal activity such as armed robberies. As such, possession of a sawed-off shotgun in New Jersey can result in severe consequences, including a 3 to 5-year term of incarceration. If you are charged with possession of a sawed-off shotgun, it is crucial to have a knowledgeable and experienced attorney on your side.

At The Tormey Law Firm, our skilled New Jersey weapons attorneys regularly represent clients facing criminal weapons charges ranging from possession of prohibited weapons and devices, to unlawful disposition of a firearm and possession of a weapon for an unlawful purpose. Led by founder Travis J. Tormey, who was recently named among the top 10 Criminal Attorneys in New Jersey by the American Jurist Institute, our weapons defense team includes former gun prosecutors, former members of the U.S. Attorney’s Office, and a former member of the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office’s Weapons Forfeiture Unit. We leverage our extensive experience on both sides of New Jersey weapons cases to effectively advocate for clients across the State, including in Monmouth, Bergen, Essex, and Morris counties. To discuss your case with one of our highly knowledgeable weapons attorneys today, contact us at (201)-614-2474 for a cost-free consultation.

Sawed-Off Shotguns in New Jersey

Definition of a Sawed-Off Shotgun

According to section N.J.S.A. 2C:39-1, which includes definitions of critical terms related to New Jersey Weapons Law, a sawed-off shotgun applies to “any shotgun having a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length measured from the breech to the muzzle, or a rifle having a barrel or barrels of less than 16 inches in length measured from the breech to the muzzle, or any firearm made from a rifle or a shotgun, whether by alteration, or otherwise, if such firearm as modified has an overall length of less than 26 inches.”

Possession of a Sawed-Off Shotgun

In New Jersey, it is unlawful to possess a sawed-off shotgun. Possession of a sawed-off shotgun is considered a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3, which includes a lengthy list of Prohibited Weapons and Devices. A violation of this section is classified as a third degree crime when the offense involves a sawed-off shotgun. As such, a conviction may result in a sentence to serve between 3 and 5 years in New Jersey State Prison, as well as a maximum fine of $15,000.

Other Offenses Involving Sawed-Off Shotguns

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-9, New Jersey also expressly prohibits the manufacture, transport, sale, shipment, or disposition of sawed-off shotguns. These offenses are also considered third degree crimes and are punishable by a term of incarceration ranging from 3 to 5 years and a fine of up to $15,000.

Contact Our Freehold Weapons Charges Defense Attorneys for a Free Consultation

If you have questions regarding sawed-off shotguns, imitation firearms, ammunition, or other weapons in New Jersey, or you are facing criminal charges related to the illegal possession of a weapon, contact our attorneys for immediate answers and a free consultation. Call (201)-614-2474 today.