NJ Possession of Ammunition Lawyer
Weapons Charges Defense Attorneys with Offices in Bergen County, New Jersey
In New Jersey, the possession of certain forms of ammunition is illegal, while the purchase of handgun ammunition requires a valid Firearms Purchaser Identification Card, Permit to Purchase a Handgun, or Permit to Carry a Handgun. Understanding the legal requirements of ammunition possession and purchasing is essential to protecting yourself from unforeseen legal ramifications. At The Tormey Law Firm, our attorneys are highly educated in New Jersey weapons laws and we regularly assist clients with issues ranging from firearms permit applications to criminal defense against weapons charges.
Our legal team includes founder Travis J. Tormey, who was recently named among the top 10 Criminal Attorneys in New Jersey by the American Jurist Institute, as well as a former gun prosecutors and a former member of the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office’s Weapons Forfeiture Unit. We leverage our collective knowledge and experience to achieve the best possible results for clients across New Jersey, including in Bergen, Morris, Middlesex, Essex, and Hudson counties. Contact us today at (201)-614-2474 for a cost-free consultation.
Illegal Types of Ammunition in New Jersey
Body Armor Penetrating Bullets
New Jersey strictly prohibits the possession of body armor penetrating bullets if you are not a law enforcement officer or a member of the armed forces on active duty or traveling to or from a location of active duty. The possession of body armor penetrating bullets is considered a fourth degree crime, as explained in section N.J.S.2C:39-6 of the New Jersey Criminal Code, which addresses Possession of Prohibited Weapons and Devices. Fourth degree crimes may result in a term of incarceration of up to 18 months for those convicted.
According to N.J.S.2C:39-6, the criteria for body armor breaching or penetrating ammunition are as follows:
- Ammunition primarily designed for use in a handgun, and
- Comprised of a bullet whose core or jacket, if the jacket is thicker than.025 of an inch, is made of tungsten carbide, or hard bronze, or other material which is harder than a rating of 72 or greater on the Rockwell B. Hardness Scale, and
- Therefore capable of breaching or penetrating body armor.
Hollow Nose or Hollow Point Bullets
In New Jersey, it is also illegal to possess hollow nose or hollow point bullets unless you are engaged in one of the activities that are considered “exemptions.” These include: hunting, fishing, and target shooting. You may also possess hollow nose or hollow point bullets on your personal property or while traveling to or from a point of purchase. Possession of hollow nose or hollow point bullets is considered a fourth degree crime, punishable by a sentence to serve up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Magazines Carrying Too Much Ammunition
New Jersey recently updated the law regarding how many rounds of ammunition may be contained in a single magazine. Previously, a high capacity magazine referred to a container with the capacity to hold more than 15 rounds of ammunition to be fed continuously and directly into a semi-automatic firearm. Per the changes applied in 2019, the number of rounds that an individual is allowed to legally possess within a single magazine has been reduced to 10. Possession of high capacity magazines constitutes a fourth degree crime, carrying a potential prison sentence of 18 months and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Purchasing Ammunition in New Jersey
To purchase legal forms of ammunition in New Jersey, you may need a permit, depending on the specific type of ammunition that you intend to purchase. For instance, you do not need to display a permit if you are purchasing ammunition for a rifle, shotgun, blank gun, flare gun, nail gun, paint ball gun, or air gun. On the other hand, in order to purchase handgun ammunition, you must display a valid Firearms Purchaser Identification Card, Permit to Purchase a Handgun, or Permit to Carry a Handgun. Failure to do so is a fourth degree crime that may result in a NJ State Prison sentence of up to 18 months.
Contact our Hudson County Weapons and Ammunition Lawyers for Answers
If you have questions regarding ammunition in New Jersey or you are facing criminal charges related to illegal possession or purchasing of ammunition, contact our New Jersey weapons attorneys for immediate answers. We always provide free consultations. Call (201)-614-2474 today.