Weapons and Drug Charges in Bloomingdale to be Dismissed with PTI Program

Shotgun charges result in PTI admission in Bloomingdale, New Jersey

Arrested for a Gun and Drugs Bloomingdale NJ Best Defense

Need a lawyer for guns and drug charges in Bloomingdale, NJ? We can help.

The Passaic County criminal defense team at The Tormey Law Firm just helped another client avoid a criminal record in the Criminal Division of the Passaic County Superior Court. Initially, our client was facing a third degree weapons charges for the unlawful possession of a shotgun pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:39(c) and a charge for third degree possession of a controlled dangerous substance under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a)(1). Because of these charges, our client was facing three to five years in prison for each offense, fines of up to $15,000 for the gun charge and a fine of up to $35,000 for the drug charge. Fortunately, the client contacted the Passaic County drug and weapons defense lawyers at The Tormey Law Firm and we were able to resolve the case through pretrial intervention (PTI) and our client will not have a record of any criminal convictions upon successful completion of the diversionary program.

This case arose after the Bloomingdale Police responded to a call regarding our client, finding an unsecured shotgun in plain view in the back seat of our client’s truck. Then, the police searched the vehicle and found a plastic bag containing a suspected controlled dangerous substance. Under the New Jersey Criminal Code, the possession, actually or constructively, of a controlled dangerous substance, or its analog, classified in schedule I, II, III, or IV other than marijuana and hashish, is a crime of the third degree, carrying a three to five-year prison sentence and an enhanced fine of up to $35,000. Additionally, a conviction for a third degree charge for possession of a controlled dangerous substance imposes a $1,000 Drug Enforcement Demand and Reduction (DEDR) penalty and a driver’s license suspension of six months to two years.

As for the weapons offenses, the New Jersey Criminal Code set forth that the unlawful possession of a shotgun is third degree crime which subjects the defendant to three to five years in prison, with mandatory prison terms set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:43-6(c) and a fine of up to $15,000. The bottom line with this case was that our client could have ended up in prison as a result of the events and now, he is admitted into pretrial intervention and does not have a record of a criminal conviction.

Arrested with Guns, Drugs in Bloomingdale NJ and Looking for Help?

If you are facing criminal charges in Bloomingdale, New Jersey, the criminal defense team at The Tormey Law Firm is ready to fight for you. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers have successfully handled cases for clients accused of unlawful possession of firearms as well as possession of controlled dangerous substances and if you have been accused of similar crimes in Bloomingdale or another town in Passaic County, The Tormey Law Firm can provide you with a free case review and consultation at (201)-614-2474.