Defense Lawyers for Brass Knuckles Weapons Charges in Hackensack and throughout New Jersey
Brass knuckles are, and have been for years, incredibly popular weapons in New Jersey and across the United States since after the first and second world wars. Popularized by films and television, and bolstered by the perceived edge that they provide in bar fights and for self-defense, brass knuckles are still found on the streets in cities like Newark, Trenton, Hackensack, Paterson, and Elizabeth. They’re also common for people to keep in their homes, cars, businesses, and and beyond in small towns. Unfortunately, people are often surprised to learn that if you are found in possession of brass knuckles in New Jersey, police can arrest you on serious weapons charges.This article explores the legality of brass knuckles in New Jersey and the criminal charges that you may face for having them.
If you have been charged with prohibited possession of brass knuckles, you should immediately seek defense counsel from an experienced NJ weapons attorney. Our team defends clients charged with all types of weapons in courts across New Jersey. Please feel free to contact us anytime at (201) 614-2474 to speak with a lawyer about your specific case.
Can I be Arrested for Having Brass Knuckles in New Jersey?
Although this may come as disappointing news, New Jersey law bans the possession of brass knuckles. If police find brass knuckles in your car, on your person, or see you using brass knuckles in a fight, you can quickly find yourself in very hot water. New Jersey law prohibits you from carrying certain weapons without a permit or a lawful reason. Specifically, NJSA 2C:39-3 prohibits carrying metal knuckles and other similar devices including a cestus, knuckle dusters, reinforced gloves, and others. Another law, NJSA 2C:39-4, criminalizes the possession of a weapon, including brass knuckles, if you intend to use that weapon for an unlawful purpose like committing a crime. The crime itself can range from assaulting or battering a person at a bar, holding up a liquor store, or facilitating a robbery, for example.
What are the Penalties for Brass Knuckles in NJ?
If New Jersey police catch you in possession of an illegal weapon like brass knuckles, you will typically be charged with a fourth degree crime. If you are convicted, you will have an indictable offense (also known as a felony) on your permanent criminal record, and you will face 18 months in prison and up to $10,000 in fines, among other penalties.
If New Jersey law enforcement finds you in possession of brass knuckles for an unlawful purpose like committing a crime, the potential penalties upon conviction are even more serious. You will generally be charged with a third degree indictable offense, carrying 3 to 5 years in prison and fines up to $15,000.
Can I Get Brass Knuckles Charges Dismissed?
You may be able to beat charges for brass knuckles with the help of a seasoned lawyer who can examine the circumstances of your unique case and determine the applicability of available defenses. For instance, some people possess brass knuckles for lawful purposes, including theater productions, educational, personal, and entertainment purposes. Or your attorney may also be able to argue that the police search that uncovered the brass knuckles was not supported by reasonable suspicion or probable cause, violating the U.S. Constitutions’ prohibitions on unreasonable searches and seizures. This is why it is so essential to seek assistance from a qualified New Jersey weapons defense attorney as soon as you can.
Speak with an Attorney about Your NJ Brass Knuckles Case
If you have been accused of a brass knuckles offense in New Jersey, protect your best interests and ask the advice of a knoweldgeable New Jersey weapons defense lawyer without delay. We defend clients charged with having brass knuckles and other prohibited weapons in Bergen County, Morris County, Essex County, Hudson County, Union County, and throughout NJ. Call (201) 614-2474 for help today. We provide free consultations.